Sep 16, 2022
Reading time
2 minutes
Download the article
Click here to print
Text size
aA+ aA-

2022 CFDA Fashion Awards names nominees, honorees

Sep 16, 2022

The CFDA announced on Thursday the nominees and honorees for the 2022 CFDA Fashion Awards in partnership with Amazon Fashion, revealing some of the biggest names in fashion. 

2022 CFDA Fashion Awards names nominees, honorees. - CFDA

Set to take place on Monday, November 7, in Manhattan, awards will be given across the usual categories like designers of the year for womenswear, menswear and accessories, as well as new categories like the Stylist Award, whose inaugural recipient is Law Roach.

The Board of Trustee’s Award will posthumously be given to Virgil Abloh to honor the late designer’s contribution to global fashion. Meanwhile, the CFDA’s 2022 Fashion Icon, which was given to Zendaya in 2021, will go to singer-songwriter, record producer and actor, Lenny Kravitz. 

“The 2022 CFDA Fashion Awards will celebrate not just honor American fashion’s best and brightest talents, but also the CFDA’s 60th anniversary milestone,” said CFDA CEO, Steven Kolb.

“This year’s nominees reflect the renewed excitement around American fashion generated by designers who are redefining the future of our industry. The CFDA thanks Amazon Fashion for its support of the awards.”

The nominees for American Womenswear Designer of the Year are Catherine Holstein for Khaite, Christopher John Rogers, Gabriela Hearst, LaQuan Smith, and Peter Do.

For the Menswear Designer of the Year, Emily Bode Aujla for Bode, Jerry Lorenzo for Fear of God, and Mike Amiri for Amiri, will square off against Thom Browne for Thom Browne New York, and Willy Chavarria.

Likewise, for Emerging Designer of the Year it’s Bach Mai, and Carly Mark for Puppets and Puppets, who will be up against Colm Dillane for KidSuper, Elena Velez, and Lauren Harwell Godfrey for Harwell Godfrey.

The Positive Social Influence Award is going to Slaysians from the The House of Slay featuring Prabal Gurung, Laura Kim, Phillip Lim, Tina Leung, and Ezra William. The Founder’s Award in honor of Eleanor Lambert goes to Andrew Bolton, Wendy Yu Curator in Charge, The Costume Institute at The Metropolitan Museum of Art.

Laurie Lynn Stark and Richard Stark of Chrome Hearts will receive the Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award, while he Media Award created in honor of Eugenia Sheppard will go to Patti Wilson.

The Environmental Sustainability Award will be presented to The United Nations and accepted by Ms. Amina J. Mohammed, United Nations Deputy Secretary-General.

Lastly, to mark the CFDA’s 60th anniversary year, the CFDA is adding a one-time Special Anniversary Award, which goes to longtime CFDA member Jeffrey Banks.

Looking ahead, additional award announcements are expected to be made in the coming weeks.

Copyright © 2023 FashionNetwork.com All rights reserved.